Biotalks Podcast
Biotalks Podcast Podcast
Episode 0.0: The Stilted Introduction (Pilot)
0:00
-5:14

Episode 0.0: The Stilted Introduction (Pilot)

Welcome to Biotalks! In this brief pilot episode, I introduce some of my first guests and the core idea behind this project.
Shelby Herbert stands in front of a cliff face surrounded by tall grass. She is pointing a camera at something out of frame.
It’s me! Your hostess.

I’d like to welcome y’all to the very first episode of Biotalks! I’m your host, Shelby Herbert. I’m an environmental reporter, an audio storyteller, and a zealous birdwatcher. I got my start in public radio, and you can hear my work on NPR affiliate station KUNR 88.7 and the Mountain West News Bureau.

But long before I started my journalism career, I was failing out of organic chemistry in my undergraduate wildlife ecology program at Western Colorado University. For anybody who isn’t in the know: organic chemistry, or “O-chem” is notorious among biology students for its heavy course loads and fast-paced environment, which force struggling students to rethink their major and career path. Suffice to say, I was among many who were effectively “weeded out” of the field.

While I was never able to successfully pursue my lifelong passion for wildlife conservation in a formal academic setting, I found my home in wordsmithing, and would eventually complete a bachelor’s degree in creative writing.

I supplanted some of my professional regret by participating in conservation-oriented projects like the Audubon Society’s Christmas Bird Count, where — unbeknownst to me at the time — I found a wealth of resources for this project.

I’m not an authority on the natural sciences, and I don’t pretend to be. But on this podcast, you’ll hear from real scientists, activists, and traditional ecological knowledge practitioners. They’re all here to remind us why everybody has a stake in preserving wildlife.

And that’s because widespread destruction of highly biodiverse habitats across the planet has brought about a sixth mass extinction. These extinctions span numerous families of bacteria, fungi, plants, and animals; as well as widespread degradation of highly biodiverse habitats such as coral reefs and rainforests. Getting down to brass tacks, the current rate is estimated to be 100 to 1,000 times higher than natural background extinction rates.

The term “Biodiversity loss” describes the decline in the number, genetic variability, and variety of species in a given area. The ongoing degradation of the planet’s variety of life could lead to a breakdown in the environmental processes we rely on — and all too often take for granted. These are things like carbon sequestration, pollination, and water filtration. This is also where the project takes its name: from all the “biota” we stand to lose.  Bio-talks. Biota-lks. Geddit?

But I also want to help my audience strengthen their sense of place, wherever you may be. That’s one of the most rewarding and meaningful parts of life for me — connecting to all the lifeforms unique to my immediate area.

That’s where the idea for my intro song came from!

Though this project isn’t bound to any particular state or region, it did start in the Silver State. I wanted to honor my temporary home with the state anthem: “Home Means Nevada.” And much to my convenience, it’s also… unlicensed!

But I digress. Got ideas for a future episode? Drop your thoughts in the comments of my Substack! That’s also where you can also find fun multimedia content, helpful links, and transcripts of each podcast.

Thanks so much for joining me for this pilot episode, folks. It certainly feels like I’m piloting a plane that’s still being put together after liftoff, but we’re all in for a wild ride.

I’m Shelby Herbert, and this is your cheerful reminder that you inhabit a dying planet. Don’t stop talking about it.

0 Comments
Biotalks Podcast
Biotalks Podcast Podcast
The hottest gossip about native biodiversity in your area.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Biotalks Pod